Forum Login

Checking credentials

Forgotten password?

Physics, Maths and MfL Enhancement Training

Subject specialism training 2016-17

The Advanced Learning Alliance in conjunction with The AlbanTSA are pleased to offer enhanced training in Physics, Maths and MfL.

We are delighted to have secured funding to run teacher subject specialism training (TSST) in a number of subject areas in 2016-17.  Thanks to funding this training can be offered free of charge to delegates.

The purpose of TSST is to up-skill non-specialist and returning teachers, developing subject knowledge and refreshing pedagogical approaches.  The training is delivered by experienced subject specialists from across our alliance partner schools, allowing delegates to draw on best practice from a range of contexts and benefit from these strong partnerships.

 In 2016-17 we will offer training in:

 

Maths TSST

Running for its second year and hosted at Sandringham School, St Albans, and Roundwood Park School, Harpenden, the programme will be delivered by three Specialist Leaders of Education, one of whom is also Area Coordinator for Hertfordshire on the Further Maths Support Programme, another an Assistant Head of Maths (faculty in top 3% in country) and another with 5 years’ experience as Head of Faculty.

 

·         Wednesday 12th Oct: 2-5pm

·         Wednesday 2nd Nov:  2-5pm

·         Wednesday 30th Nov: 4-6pm

·         Wednesday 18th January: 2-5pm

·         Wednesday 22nd February: 4-6pm

·         Wednesday 15th March: 2-5pm

·         Wednesday 17th May: 4-6.30pm

 

Please contact the Alban TSA to reserve places on the Maths TSST:  vicki.kateley@sandringham.herts.sch.uk

 

 

Physics TSST

 

IOP enabled, community approved

 

Physics sessions will run every 2 or 3 weeks mainly on Thursday afternoons from 2.30 to 5pm and will be hosted at Dame Alice Owen’s School.  Participants can choose to attend KS3/GCSE sessions and/or A-Level sessions.  School visits to participants’ schools by a physics specialist as well as more intensive training during the summer term are also part of this exciting programme.  All the 2015-16 participants rated the course as very good or excellent and one commented: this course gave me lots of ideas to support and challenge students, especially with regards to differentiation and addressing misconceptions.

 

GCSE:

A level:

·         Thursday 29th September

·         Thursday 20th October

·         Wednesday 9th November

·         Thursday 15th December

·         Tuesday 10th January

·         Thursday 2nd February

·         Wednesday 1st March

·         Thursday 23rd March

·         Thursday 25th May

·         Friday 26th May

·         Thursday 6th October

·         Thursday 8th December

·         Thursday 26th January

·         Thursday 23rd February

·         Thursday 25th May

 

Please email Linda Linwood to book places on the Physics TSST:  linwoodl@damealiceowens.herts.sch.uk

 

 

MFL TSST

Designed and delivered by in partnership with the Advanced Learning Alliance, Herts and Bucks Teaching Alliance and Herts for Learning the programme will provide an opportunity to complete one of two training streams:

 

1.       For those looking to add a language (French, German or Spanish)

2.       For those wanting to enhance current practice (e.g. staff with little UK classroom experience, or who are teaching out of specialism)

 

Training will be designed and led by four Specialist Leaders of Education and an MFL county advisor and is scheduled to take place on:

 

·         Wednesday October 5th (full day)

·         Thursday 20th  October

·         Monday 14th November

·         Tuesday 13th  December

·         Friday 13th January (full day)

·         Thursday 26th January

·         Wednesday 22rd February

·         Monday 13th March

·         Thursday 30th March

 

Please contact the Alban TSA to reserve places on the Maths TSST:  vicki.kateley@sandringham.herts.sch.uk